Brock Newling increases Fox Rollercoaster Series Lead in Thredbo

Round 2 of the Fox Rollercoaster Superflow Series took Rocky Trail’s gravity racers to Thredbo and saw a new sponsor come on board with Stan’s NoTubes. In a stacked field, Brock Newling from the NSW Central Coast increases his series lead in the Elite Men and Sian A’Hern won in the Women’s Elite division.


The annual Rocky Trail Gravity Weekend at Thredbo this year brought Round 2 of the Fox Rollercoaster Superflow Series as well as the RedAss Downhill Enduro NSW/ACT State Championships to the popular trails in the Koszciusko National Park. The Fox Rollercoaster competitors completed two runs of the Flow Trail on the Saturday while practice was under way for the RedAss Downhill on the Cannonball Run.

Brock Newling from Gorokan clocked in the two fastest times among the Elite Men’s and did so in an effortless style that showed the talent and caliber of this Central Coast rider who said that the Fox Rollercoaster had rekindled his passion for racing after a break from his previous downhill career. With a combined time of 15:03,73 Newling takes over the series lead ahead of Dave Young (15:16,46) from the Blue Mountains, his runner up in Thredbo.

In third with a race time of 15:34,31 was Duke Millington who also claims the third spot in the overall series.

Rising star Sian A’Hern wins the women’s divison

In the women’s Canberra’s Sian A’Hern dominated the elite division, winning on both days and displaying a strong form after a season riddled with injury in 2016. With a race time of 16:54,63 she took the win ahead of Kellie Weinert from Kearns (17:23,14) and Ellie Smith from the Central Coast (17:51,72).

Ellie Smith’s third place puts her in the series lead ahead of the grand dame of NSW gravity, Joanne Fox from Emu Heights and Sian A’Hern is in third ahead of the next round on her home track at Stromlo Forest Park in Canberra on 30 April.

Online registration is open via the Rocky Trail website and the organisers are expecting a full house with four race tracks on offer that will have to be completed by riding to the starts in neutral.


>> Link to results portal

>> Link to rider photo download via Outer Image

Use password: thredbomtb



Ellie Smith (middle) takes over the women’s series lead – with Mondraker team riders Alyssa and Coleen Kehoe.
Rocky Trail’s gravity epicentre in Thredbo.
Father and son racing together.
Unbeatable: Brock Newling increases series lead.
Presentation time.
Sian A’Hern wins Rocky Trail Gravity Double-Header in Thredbo.