New RedAss Downhill State Elite Champions: Kellie Weinert and Graeme Mudd

Kellie Weinert from Campbelltown and Graeme Mudd from Newcastle are the new 2015 RedAss Downhill NSW/ACT State Champions. The event was held on the infamous “Del Sin” track at the Del Rio Resort in Wisemans Ferry near Sydney on the weekend and both riders banked on their fastest seeding times in their categories, claiming the titles in the final race runs. Harry Parsons from Mittagong took out the Under 19’s title.

Graeme Mudd from Newcastle had just returned from racing at World Cup events in Europe and took on a strong elite field at Wisemans Ferry on the weekend. Mudd is one of the most experienced gravity racers in NSW, competing in and claiming numerous four cross and downhill titles and top placings across Australia and internationally in previous years. He looked lean and fit as he defeated experienced racers Bruce Moir and Tim Eaton to claim the title in 1:55.040. Having a one second gap in the seeding runs, the finals were tight with the top three elite men finishing with a second of each other.

“I dropped a bit of weight from my four cross days, I just want to work hard for the National Series this year and the remaining State Series”, said Graeme Mudd of his plans for the rest of the season.

Graeme Mudd taking on a rocky section at Del Rio. Photo:


Kellie Weinert – the new rising star

In the elite women’s Kellie Weinert, the 19-year old Campbelltown racer, was hailed as the new rising star in women’s state downhill by her fellow racers. Weinert won in a final time of 2:27.281 – Michelle Crisp from Sydney came in second with a gap of nine seconds ahead of Joanne Fox (+20.954 seconds).

“Kellie really stepped out of peoples shadows today – all her hard training is paying of, it’s a pleasure seeing her race so smoothly and being rewarded for it”, said Coleen Kehoe, Master Women’s State Champion at Del Rio.

Kellie Weinert on track to win. Photo:
Kellie Weinert on track to win. Photo:


Downhill State Champions announced across age and skill categories

Steve Humphreys, President of NSW MTB, said, “I congratulate all our new downhill State Champions – we saw some tremendous performances and it’s rewarding also to see so many young talents coming through the ranks. The future of this niche sport looks promising!” Mr Humphreys awarded the titles to the following category winners:

  • Elite Men: Graeme Mudd, Newcastle NSW
  • Elite Women: Kellie Weinert, Kearns NSW
  • Under 19 Men: Harry Parsons, Mittagong NSW
  • Under 17 Men: Patrick Butler, Brunkerville NSW
  • Under 15 Men: Kye A’Hern, Canberra ACT
  • Junior Women: Ellie Smith, Jilliby NSW
  • Expert Men: Nicholas Atkins, Glenbrook NSW
  • Expert Women: Rhiannon Cheesewright, Gulgong NSW
  • Veteran 30+ Men: Daniel Seidel, Kiama Downs NSW
  • Master 40+ Men: Brendon Cragg, Canberra ACT
  • Master Women: Coleen Kehoe, Thornton NSW
  • SuperMaster 50+ Men: Brett Smith, Jilliby NSW
  • GrandMaster 60+ Men: Steve Coles, Orange NSW


The RedAss Downhill NSW/ACT State Series will continue with Round 2 at Green Valleys Freeride Park at Tongarra near Shellharbour on the NSW South Coast on 29+30 August 2015. Full results and event information is available on


>> Results portal


Further interviews of top elite riders:

>> Bruce Moir, Elite Men’s runner up

>> Tim Eaton, Elite Men’s third


Race atmosphere – behind the scenes:

>> Last minutes of elite men’s final

>> Champagne showers with new 2015 RedAss DH State Champions


Photos: Rocky Trail

Elite Mens podium. Photo: Rocky Trail
Elite Mens podium. Photo: Rocky Trail
Elite Women's podium. Photo: Rocky Trail
Elite Women’s podium. Photo: Rocky Trail

>> Link to all podium photos on the Rocky Trail Facebook page