Official release: Brett Bellchambers new JetBlack 24 Hour Solo Champion

The JetBlack 24 Hour mountain bike endurance race was held at the iconic Australian Botanic Garden Mount Annan last weekend. More than 500 racers were at the start of the 100th race hosted by organisers Rocky Trail Entertainment. Brett Bellchambers from Canberra took out the Solo Elite victory ahead of local Jonathan Battle from Campbelltown and Ben Jacka from Newcastle. Cory Wallace, the Canadian National Marathon Champion wins the 6+6 Hour Solo Elite race and first time-solo racer Ange Delamont from the Southern Highlands wins the female solo title.

The JetBlack 24 Hour event offered more than 28 different racing categories to solo and team riders on the weekend. The prestigious 24-hour solo elite title for 2013 was claimed by the reigning Singlespeed 24-hour World Champion Brett Bellchambers from Canberra with 38 laps in 22:19:12 on the 8.5km course at The Australian Botanic Garden, Mt Annan. Second was the local racer Jonathan Battle from Campbelltown who completed 35 laps for the Australian Defence Cycling Club team ahead of Newcastle’s Benjamin Jacka on 31 laps.

“I love this track and Rocky Trail puts on such fun events, this just had to be my final race for the season”, said Brett Bellchambers at the finish, admitting, that a 24-hour solo race on the tough Mt Annan course on his singlespeed bike had probably been a “silly idea”. “I’m hurting now, but I really enjoyed it out there”, said the racer who has become a legend among Australian mountain bikers with his uncanny humour, friendly attitude out on track and his infamous bearded style.

For the first time in the history of the JetBlack 24 Hour event, the overall line honours went to a racing pair: the “Last Minute” team with 24-Hour Solo World Champion runner up Andrew Lloyd (Newcastle) and team mate Callum McNamara (Canberra) who completed 52 laps over the course of 24 hours.

Cory Wallace takes out 6+6 Hour solo win
Another very popular racer at Mt Annan was Cory Wallace, who competed in the 6+6 Hour Solo Elite category. The 6+6 Hour riders represented about a third of the field and got to rest overnight after six hours of racing on Saturday before completing another six hours on Sunday. “I expected a much flatter course and the track was tough but a lot of fun. I’m stoked that I finally got to race a Rocky Trail event. These guys run a solid show and an awesome event, hopefully I can come back next year to defend my title”, said the Mongolia Challenge winner and Crocodile Trophy runner up of 2013 who completed 26 laps in 24:03:17 and won ahead of Daniel Beresford from Wagga Wagga (NSW) and Duncan Middleton from Dungog (NSW).

In the female solo race Ange Delamont completed her first solo endurance race and took out the win with 16 laps in 23:41:21, finishing over 20 minutes ahead of Linda Stahlgren Bouveng from Canberra and 6 full laps ahead of Nardeen Hayden from Dubbo (NSW).

Centenary of events for Rocky Trail
“This event is always one of our racing highlights and thanks to our major sponsor JetBlack Cycling, our industry supporters and loyal riders it has been growing every year”, said race director Martin Wisata from Rocky Trail for whom the JetBlack 24 Hour in 2013 marked the company’s fifth anniversary and the major milestone of 100 races held since 2008.

Rocky Trail confirmed that the JetBlack 24 Hour will return on the weekend of 29-30 November 2014 as the season finale for their 18 races ranging from downhill to gravity enduro to cross-country endurance and a mountain bike marathon next year. For full JetBlack 24 Hour results and the Rocky Trail events calendar for 2014 visit

Top Category Results JetBlack 24 Hour 2013

24H Solo Elite Male
1. Brett Bellchambers / #1 / Jeebus Racing / Canberra, ACT / 38 laps in 22:19:12
2. Jonathan Battle / #6 / Team Battle / Campbelltown, NSW / 35 laps in 23:30:33
3. Ben Jacka / #9 / Maitland, NSW / 31 laps in 24:04:05

24H Solo Elite Male Master (40+)
1. Simon Kane / #42 / Turramurra, NSW / 25 laps in 22:0:25
2. John Van Den Ham / #43 / Wingello, NSW / 15 laps in 18:15:31

24H Team 2 Elite
1. Last Minute – Andrew Lloyd (Newcastle, NSW) and Callum McNamara (Canberra) / 52 laps in 24:10:28
2. Beyond – Patrick Callaghan and Raphael Muller / Leumeah, NSW / 36 laps in 23:37:09
3. Wild Turkeys – Shay Wharlich and Steve Baldwin / Bombala, NSW / 28 laps in 24:07:39

24H Team 4 Elite
1. ADCC Racing – Shane Taylor, Michael Crummy, Michael Hernan, Mark Astley / Canberra-Sydney / 51 laps in 24:04:09
2. Ride Ettalong Elite – Ben Howarth, Leigh Mitchell, Alex Yallouris, Sam Coulter / Central Coast, NSW / 51 laps in 24:07:48
3. Cannot say No (this time) – Ken Mann, Troy Thomas, Steven Bennett, Matt Reed / Central Coast, NSW / 47 laps in 24:06:03

6+6H Solo Elite Male
1. Cory Wallace / #101 / Kona Factory Racing / Vancouver (CAN) / 26 laps in 24:03:17
2. Daniel Beresford / #117 / Wagga Wagga, NSW / 25 laps in 24:09:38
3. Duncan Middleton / #124 / Dungong, NSW / 25 laps in 24:12:08

6+6H Solo Elite Female
1. Ange Delamont / #122 / Philthy Angel / Moss Vale, NSW / 16 laps in 23:41:21
2. Linda Stahlgren Bouveng / #123 / Braddon, ACT / 16 laps in 24:17:08
3. Nardeen Hayden / #130 / JetBlack Racing Female Solo / Dubbo, NSW / 10 laps in 22:25:49

6+6H Solo Male Master (40+)
1. Phil Welch / #148 / JetBlack Racing Crocman / Fairlight, NSW / 25 laps in 24:26:12
2. Clayton Locke / #149 / Chicken Legs Racing / Canberra, ACT / 23 laps in 24:00:48
3. Paul Rowan / #141 / Sniper Club Master / Warilla, NSW / 18 laps in 24:17:26

6+6H Solo Male SuperMaster (50+)
1. Peter Selkrig / #153 / JetBlack Racing Fluroman / Kurri Kurri, NSW / 22 laps in 23:38:37
2. Andrew Radcliffe / #152 / Iron Jaw Radcliffe / Macmasters Beach, NSW / 21 laps in 24:28:31
3. Marko Sibila / #154 / Cecil Hills, NSW / 20 laps in 24:12:31

>> Link to full results

Race start of the JetBlack 24 Hour Race 2013.
Photo: Cell Bikes


Podium 24H Solo Elites (l-r): Jonathan Battle, Brett Bellchambers, Ben Jacka.
Photo: CellBikes


Podium 6+6H Solo Elites (l-r): Daniel Beresford, Cory Wallace, Duncan Middleton.
Photo: Cell Bikes


Podium 6+6H Solo Female Elites (l-r): Linda Stahlgren Bouveng, Ange Delamont, Nardeen Hayden
Photo: CellBikes


Andrew Lloyd
Photo: GiRo


Ange Delamont
Photo: GiRo


Cory Wallace
Photo: GiRo


Daniel Beresford.
Photo: GiRo


Brett Bellchambers. Photo: GiRo
Brett Bellchambers.
Photo: GiRo


Jonathan Battle.
Photo: GiRo