Virtual Ceremony, Results and Photos | HOT ROCK Shimano MTB GP Townsville

Virtual Presentation


Race photos from the Shimano-MTB Grand Prix Hot Rock Race in Townsville are ow online! They are included in the entry with thanks to Shimano Australia Cycling and Townsville Enterprise, so download them now!



Well done to all the racers in the Shimano MTB GP QLD Race 2 | Townsville HOT ROCK race this weekend! Congratulations to all podium getters – your virtual podium presentation is coming your way soon. As are the rider photos, which are included in your entries with thanks to support from Shimano Australia Cycling and Townsville Enterprise.

In the 4-hour race the overall Solo winner in the Women’s is local rider Meredith Watkins in 8 laps in 4:08:19 ahead of Leah Denman and Tegan Maguire, both on 6 laps. In the men’s, Bernard Crossar-Smith from Brinsmead smashed it for the win in the Masters 40+ category and solo outright, recording 10 laps in 4:07:00. Damian Rosenthal and Rowan Greedy did 8 laps each for second and third overall.
The line honours in the 4 hour race go to the Bike Fix Townsville Pairs Team – 11 laps in 4:12:25!

In the tight GP7 hour race, Laura Dunstan from Magnetic Island did 12 laps in 7:17:59 winning ahead of Kate Davis from Garbutt (10 laps). In the men’s the outright solo winner is Baily Devantier-Thomas from Mount Louisa who completed an impressive 15 laps in 7:03:14 on the tough course. Mark Mollenhagen from Annandale came in second overall with 12 laps ahead of Issara Singtothong (12 laps).
With 18 laps the line honours in the 7 hour was claimed by the Dos Hombres Team – crossing the line at the 7:27:29 mark.


Tough course, hot conditions, great start to the Rocky Trail double-header in Townsville! A huge shout-out to the Rockwheelers MTB Club – Townsville!